Imperfection

Crash and Burn

Tullian post graphic (2)

In the Sermon on the Mount, Jesus wants to set us free by showing us our need for a rightness we can never attain on our own–an impossible righteousness that’s always out of our reach. The purpose of the Sermon on the Mount is to demolish all notions that we can reach the righteousness required by God–it’s about exterminating all attempts at self-sufficient moral endeavor.

So, in the deepest sense, the Sermon on the Mount is not a goal, but a wall we crash into so that we finally cry out “I can’t do it!” Tullian Tchividjian

I CRASHED and BURNED – physically, emotionally, spiritually, financially, relationally. I came so close..way too close, to ending my life…so close to leaving my beautiful daughter to live life without me, so close to leaving my mom to face the heartache of losing her only daughter.

Although the pain of crashing and burning was extremely intense and debilitating, I thank God for it. Hitting rock-bottom and finding out that Jesus was holding tightly to me, not because of any shred of righteousness on my part, restored my hope and saved my life. Failure helped me to realize that all of my efforts to be “good” could never succeed at earning God’s love. God LOVES me – Jesus lived perfectly for me and his righteous blood covers me.

I can’t do this thing called life on my own – I need Jesus DESPERATELY. His arms are wide open. He sees me – so imperfect, so broken, and oh how He loves me. I hit a wall..and found truth, life, and a love that can never be extinguished.

I love to read your comments....

