Uncategorized

Grief = Statement of Faith

Dad with the grandkids in 1998. One year before his death.
Dad with the grandkids in 1998. One year before he died.

This morning I woke up at 4:30 to use the facilities. After a sneeze attack and frustrating tossing and turning, I fell back to sleep about 5:30. I awoke again at 6:30. In that hour I had a dream about dad and was bawling my eyes out. I probably woke up all the neighbors. Yes, it was one of those gut-wrenching cries.

Grief is like that.

I beg you to please be gentle with those who grieve, even if it has been many years since their loved one died and you think they should be “over it” and “moved on” by now.

Dad was so vivid in my dream it was like he was sitting right beside me with his head on my shoulder. I miss him IMMENSELY!!

When I wake from something like that, I can’t help but miss him even more. I can’t turn that grief off, and I don’t think I would want to. That grief means my dad touched my life in a profound way. It means I look forward to seeing him again. It means that I know he is in Heaven. It means I trust that God has us in the palm of His hand and one day the tears will end.

But for now, while I am in this broken world, tears are good. They are a gift. I will accept the gift and take comfort that Jesus cries with me.

“Grief is a statement of faith that one day, things will not be this way.”  Tullian Tchividijian

I love to read your comments....

