Uncategorized

Thank You For Your Silence

IMG_38493083347704

I wrote this poem based on my personal experience, what I’ve learned from the book and sermon series Glorious Ruin by Tullian Tchividjian and from what Christyn Taylor taught me in her Beauty from Ashes study on Job.

Thank You For Your Silence

I know you’ve wanted to say something about what you think I should do

I know my pain is uncomfortable and you think my healing is way past due

Maybe you think you know the whole story, simply by what I’ve shared

The Lord sees me in the dark of the night when the shadows try to veil me from truth

My rescuer has not left me, and my desperate prayers he does not misconstrue

He knows I need a friend right now, who can listen and be still…and I’m glad he chose you

I know how hard it is to see your friend in anguish, I’ve been there too

Thank you for trusting there is a bigger story

He turns ashes to beauty…I’ve seen it time and time again

Thank you for loving me in this way

Thank you for being a silent friend

Christina Hernandez, March 2015

6 thoughts on “Thank You For Your Silence

  1. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS POST! That is why I have been withdrawn and unsocial and seem to have gone into hiding from my friends and family since November of last year because what I am going through in my life right now (on so many fronts, in so many ways & so many aspects) is so overwhelming and so, SO heavy that I do not want burden anyone or “dump” on anyone. I don’t want to make anyone feel uncomfortable to hear what I am going through. I don’t want to make anyone feel awkward or have them look at me as though I’ve lost my marbles or I’m a “spaz.” I am afraid if I tell them all that is weighing my heart and spirit down right now, they will never look at me in the same away…and not for the better. Thank you for this post.

I love to read your comments....

