Identity in Christ

Secrets in the Shell

This is a poem I wrote a few years ago as the Lord was helping me crawl out of a very deep hole of despair. I got so tired of wearing masks, hiding things and pretending to be somebody He never intended. I didn’t understand the gospel after a lifetime of church. It became so exhausting that I crashed and burned hard. I’m grateful that I found out the Christian life isn’t about pretending and performing. I don’t want to live that way anymore. I’m so thankful for safe people who aren’t afraid of my brokenness. I’m praying I can learn to let the shell fall off with the unsafe ones too, because with Jesus by my side I really have nothing to lose.

The Secrets in The Shell                        

I so want to tell you all is perfect, all is well
but at the same time I want to show you all the secrets hidden in my shell
I know that if I open up my shell and expose the secrets inside
That will be the beginning of freedom
but something keeps them locked inside
I think we all have shell secrets we’re afraid to expose
and it makes me sad that there’s a “real me” inside everyone that nobody, on this earth, really knows
Is this really how God meant it to be?
A world full of people living in shells, afraid to be free
I wonder, just wonder, what it would be like, if just for one day we could come out of hiding and set the shells aside
Reveal the “real me(s)” we thought nobody could love 
Free from judgment, or hatred, or shame…filled with the kindness, grace, and love of our Creator above.
Would the world break from the weight of those shells? Or would it heal?

Christina Marie Hernandez

2 thoughts on “Secrets in the Shell

I love to read your comments....

