It's all about Jesus

Jesus and the Ornaments

Hope Graphic

This year the New Year’s resolution  mumbo-jumbo is making me highly uncomfortable. All the “New Year, New You” stuff that I’m reading and seeing is making me nauseous. It makes me so nauseous that I’m trying my best to stay off of Facebook. I pop on here and there to post an article or a quote, but for sanity’s sake, I think I should completely steer clear until March – by then, most people realize that they are the same people they were in 2014. Circumstances may be better or worse, but people are basically the same…and that is really okay…because God created us.  The New Year lingo sounds an awful like, and I’m imagining a holier than thou church lady* saying this, “Let’s put Jesus back in the closet with the rest of the ornaments now, dear, forget why he came…at least until Easter, and get busy creating better, skinnier, clutter-free, sinless versions of ourselves.”

I’ve read some social media church invites for their upcoming 2015 sermon series and many of them don’t sit well with me. I fear preachers are preparing to sprinkle a little Jesus on a whole lot of “DO MORE, TRY HARDER!!” I have grown so weary of “checklist” Christianity.

I want more of Jesus…

  • To rest in what He has accomplished for me (John 3:16)
  • To be still enough to hear My Wonderful Counselor speak words of love and peace over me (Psalm 46:10)
  • To remember that His grace is sufficient for my sins, brokenness, messy relationships, financial woes, days of failure and sleepless nights  (2 Cor. 12:9)
  • To know that He is working all things for good (Romans 8:28)
  • To sit in His lap when the sadness wells up in my heart (Luke 18:15-17)
  • To remember that He understands when I miss my dad (who is with Him in heaven) (Matthew 26:42)
  • To trust that He has a plan and a purpose for my pain (Jeremiah 29:11)
  • To declare “It is Finished” when the voices of the world tell me I’m not enough (John 19:30)

I will ring in the New Year knowing that my hope is not in some idealized version of me or the world. I refuse to pack Jesus away with the tree and the ornaments – He is my hope…He is my life.

 

*This lady is really just a compilation of the many voices who fed me false information about the Christian life – not only made up of women. I’m guilty of having joined along with those voices. Jesus, with the help of recovery and voices that speak the truth of the gospel, are helping me to heal from the false beliefs that I lived with for years. I’m finding new life in the truth of the good news.

2 thoughts on “Jesus and the Ornaments

I love to read your comments....

