Counsel

Wonderful Counselor

Church

For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. Isaiah 9:6 NIV

I was inspired to write this after listening to a Christmas sermon preached by Tullian Tchividjian, where he spoke beautifully about our Wonderful Counselor, Jesus…

No one can counsel me like you, Lord

Your office is always open

I don’t need to set an appointment

You don’t require a co-pay or insurance claim

I don’t have to get dressed up or pull myself together

No need to fill out paperwork

You already know my past

You see the depths of my heart

You know the words I dare not utter to a single soul

You welcome me to fall apart

You see through my masks and all of my hiding mechanisms

You see my desperation in a way the world cannot see

You encourage me to let the tears flow and collect them in your bottle

You speak to me by touching my heart in ways words never can

You remind me who You are and who I am

You don’t give me a checklist of things I need to do to “get better”

You direct me to the cross

You don’t frown when I confess my sins

You remind me You paid it all

Christina Hernandez, Dec. 2014

Note: This post is not, by any means, meant to deter anyone from seeing a licensed professional counselor. I am seeing a counselor, and she is great. 

The sermon that inspired me is Hero of The Faith, Part 12

2 thoughts on “Wonderful Counselor

I love to read your comments....

