Uncategorized

Don’t be sorry for having breath in your lungs

IMG_20140906_101133407

I say sorry a lot

Often I say it too much

My good friends have told me so

Sometimes I’m sorry for cutting someone off

I try my best to say I’m sorry when I’ve messed up

But the Lord lovingly tells me “Don’t be sorry for having breath in your lungs.”

For far too long, I was disappointed in the life I’ve lived. Because of my many world-defined “weaknesses”, and mistakes that I’ve made, I thought I was defective, not worthy of the breath in my lungs. Somehow, I thought God made a mistake when he made me…because I’ve been listening to the voices of the world. I have always been ultra-sensitive…and the “world” doesn’t much like ultra-sensitive. I have always been creative – and for too long I thought being creative, by the “world’s” economy, was a waste of time. I’ve never been a clean freak – and the “world” says “cleanliness is next to godliness” (nowhere does it say this in the Bible, by the way). I have never been very organized – and the “world” doesn’t much like clutter or the people who create it. I have struggled with depression and anxiety – and the “world” tells me to snap out of it.

I’ve accumulated a collection of masks over the years so that I can switch them out depending on the person I am going to encounter. I put on the “I’ve got my act together” mask when I encounter the person who thinks that sharing feelings is for weaklings. I grab my “our apartment is clean and spotless” mask when that friend or family member who majors in “inspection” calls that they are coming in 30 minutes (check out the closet). I put on my “no, I haven’t been creating art” mask when I encounter that person who thinks art is for elementary school kids. You get the picture.

But when I am still and quiet and listen for His voice, God tells me to shut off the voices of this fallen world. He says:

·         You are my beautiful, beloved child.

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.” Psalm 139:13-16

·         Don’t despise your weaknesses.

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

·         Many of my children have suffered from depression (Elijah, David, Peter, Paul). Don’t be ashamed of this gift that brought you to your knees and instilled a deep hunger for My presence in your life. I will use your suffering for good.

“He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others. When they are troubled, we will be able to give them the same comfort God has given usus.” 2 Corinthians 1:4

·         I love you.

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” John 3:16

·         Don’t be sorry for having breath in your lungs.

“In his hand is the life of every creature and the breath of all mankind.” Job 12:10

I’m so grateful God’s economy is the total opposite of the world’s economy. Thank you Lord for the blood-bought breath in my lungs.

“There is a mighty battle going on for control of your mind. Heaven and earth intersect in your mind; the tugs of both spheres influence your thinking. I created you with the capacity to experience foretastes of heaven. When you shut out the world and focus on My Presence, you can enjoy sitting with Me in heavenly realms. This is an incredible privilege reserved for precious ones who belong to Me and seek My Face. Your greatest strength is your desire to spend time communing with Me. As you concentrate on Me, My Spirit fills your mind with Life and Peace.” Sarah Young, Jesus Calling

2 thoughts on “Don’t be sorry for having breath in your lungs

I love to read your comments....

