Uncategorized

Book Recommendations

OWLThe Lord has been highlighting the word DESPERATE for me lately. Those of you who know me personally know that I was in an extremely desperate state last year. Those who don’t know me, please read my previous blog posts and you will get an idea of what I mean. I love God and His word has been speaking beautiful truth to me now that I understand that His word is not about ME, but about what my hero Jesus has done for me – PAID the PENALTY for my sin IN FULL. In addition to His word, several books have further highlighted His astounding grace as I am on this recovery journey. Here are just a few:

One Way Love by Tullian Tchividjian helped me to realize we are all rebels, but that God’s love is greater still. The sermon series this book is based on is amazing.

Grace Walk by Steve McVey was on a free table at a retreat I went to. It redefined for me what the Christian life is all about.

Abba’s Child by Brennan Manning showed me that God meets me in my desperation and encourages me to remove the masks.

The Language of Letting Go by Melody Beattie is a book of daily meditations that reveals that recovery from human approval/codependency is possible.

You’ll Get Through This by Max Lucado is based on the book of Joseph and reminds me that although it may not “be easy or quick” (Lucado), God will help me through the storms of this life.

More to come.

Do you have any book recommendations?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Recommendations

  1. Chasing God by Angie Smith. In the midst of it, but it is very good. She is talking about the difference between chasing and following God
    Crashing the Chatterbox by Stephen Furtick – also in the midst of it, but is also very good. About the voices that go on in our head 🙂

I love to read your comments....

