Uncategorized

The Glow of Jesus in Every Person We See

Letting Go of Broken

I have a simple request…

Please don’t see me as broken anymore!

I still have quite a few cracks but I am being restored.

I know I lived broken for so long that it’s hard to see me as something more,

but Broken is Not My Address Anymore

If you can’t honor this simple request, I accept that and have to say goodbye,

and pray that one day the light will shine bright.

You see, God sees me as restored already, the cracks have all been repaired

By the blood of Jesus and the love He shared

So I am accepting His gift with arms open wide

and leaving that broken down place to secure my spot in His family line.

Christina Hernandez, Dec. 2013

What if we could all see each other as the restored vessel, as the person we will be when we enter our Heavenly home? We would see the cracks all repaired, wounds healed, so there is no trace of damage; the light overtaking all the darkness, the glow of the Christ child shining brightly in our lives. A few years after my dad died I had a dream that gave me a beautiful glimpse of what this would look like.

I was at a wedding by the gulf. Nobody looked familiar. A freak hurricane was rolling in and everyone at the wedding died in the storm. We were floating in this humongous flood. Then, the flood died down and we were sitting in a dark, damp, dungeon of a room with several other people. There were bars on the windows and outside it was very dark and bleak. I don’t know how long we were in the dungeon but we all remained quiet and were thinking about our lives, praying, and wondering what was going to happen. The next day the sky was bright and sunny and these rays of light entered the room and broke the bars on the windows as they entered. The rays of light turned into stars that touched each of our bodies. Immediately all our wounds had been healed and the scars that we had gotten throughout our lives disappeared. We could feel God’s presence and power and all the hurt, both emotional and physical, that we had experienced throughout our lives seemed to melt away.  Then, the dungeon gates opened and we were greeted with a beautiful paradise that I believe was Heaven. My face lit up and my smile became permanent.

That dream was God’s message to me to NOT LOSE HOPE, and his love song to me that despite how much I had failed or struggled with life that I would be RESTORED, my family would be restored, ALL would be restored. Life got even worse after that dream. Our family was deeply grieving dad’s death. He was so young and his battle with cancer so brutal.  My precious little girl developed a seizure disorder and hospital and doctor visits became our normal for a few years.  Life seemed like an endless storm and I just couldn’t seem to get my act together financially, emotionally, spiritually. But…God never left me and He always sees me as that restored vessel. He sees you as that restored vessel.

As we celebrate Christmas, let’s plan to see those we love, or even those we have no desire to love anymore, as RESTORED VESSELs. Let’s remember who they were before they hurt us, or got caught up in that addiction, or got pregnant outside of marriage, or you name it. Let’s be in prayer for the lost, because God is not finished with them yet, and I am proof that He never gives up on His children. Try to imagine that innocent babe without spot or stain because that is how God really sees us thanks to Jesus.

“Therefore, we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. 2 Cor. 4:16

(Note: Last week I thought I was writing that poem to some people who still see “the old me” and are always waiting for me to crash, but now I realize that God had me write that poem to myself to remind me that is not who I am anymore and I am the one who needs to see that I am no longer broken.)

2 thoughts on “The Glow of Jesus in Every Person We See

    1. Thank you! This one is so special for me. God was all over this one. He fiercely wants me to remember who I am in Jesus…as well as everyone who surrounds me. Oh, and he wanted me to change the title. Love you and Merry Christmas!

I love to read your comments....

