Uncategorized

A Mom Sharing in Our Journey of Hope

Pleasant words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones. Proverbs 16:24

There is a mom I know who has walked alongside single moms for a long time now. This same mom once walked in the same shoes, and shared many of the same struggles. She has never failed to offer up an encouraging word or to bring a little laughter into the heart of a hurting woman. This mom met me when I was deep in the pit – of depression, loneliness, heartache. She says I’m a completely different person now than I was then. I sure hope so. I have fallen into the pit many times since our first meeting, but this lady has always been one of the people tugging with all her might on the rope to pull me out. She is one of a handful of people who has helped me to believe that God’s plans for me are greater than I can ever imagine. I’m sure I’m not the only one who has received love, encouragement, a kind word, or a mighty tug on their rope from Alyssa De Los Santos. Love you Alyssa, and I know you will always be standing in the gap for single moms.

8 thoughts on “A Mom Sharing in Our Journey of Hope

  1. What a sweet tribute to your friend, Christina! Isn’t it amazing that a word of encouragement can bring such powerful healing? I’m so grateful for my friends who stand in the gap for me, and I want to pass along that blessing to others.

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and encouraging ME!
    Hugs from VA,
    Susan

  2. How sweet that God brought someone so awesome into your life when you needed it most. As a single Mom, I totally know what you mean about the dark pit. I am so thankful that you have Jesus showing you the way out of it. Glad to have found your blog!!

  3. Love this, so special.

    And I’m pasting a quote you put on Ann Voskamp’s post (at {in}courage) today, May 31, to one of my comment boxes on a recent post I wrote (Dashed Expectations) on my blog. Is that okay? Your Oswald Chambers quote. It’s so perfectly fitting.

  4. I am not a single mom, but I have certainly had my share of pits to be pulled out of. And Alyssa is always the first to speak words of truth and healing over me. I love that girl! And I will never stop thanking the Lord for the sweet gift of her friendship! Also, we STILL need to catch coffee, Christina!😉

I love to read your comments....

