Uncategorized

Label Breaker!

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” 2 Corinthians 5:17

I am on a God-mission to break the labels that bind. The labels that people have been stamped with throughout their lives, and the shame and destruction those labels have produced. I know many people want to live with the new name God has given them, but it is a battle because those labels have taken root for far too long. I am here to say that it is not too late to pull those labels out of your heart and mind and live in victory with your new name.

This mission is inspired by a podcast titled Breaking The Labels That Bind by Pastor Craig Groeschel of LifeChurch.tv , from a sermon series Getting Past Your Past. Pastor Craig says “You are not who others say you are. You are not the sum total of what others say about you. You are who God says you are”. It has taken me a long time, and a lot of heartache, but I am finally starting to believe that I can be free of the labels that have been stamped on me by others, and the labels I have owned as I have made assumptions of what I believe others think of me.

You see, a few years ago I encountered the deepest, most soul-wrenching depression. I hit rock-bottom in almost every area of my life. I share more about that in My Story. What I would like to highlight from that story, though, is this dream I had….

One weekend in January, as I was preparing a personal devotional that I would post on Josie’s blog, I began to feel the attacks of the enemy. I was really down on myself and was falling into pit of self-loathing. The lies that have circled my mind for years were beginning to surface again. I was not feeling well physically as well and boy does the enemy love to attack us when we are sick. Well, I decided to take a nap…and I had a dream. In the dream I was meeting Josie at church and she was writing an introduction to my devotional but she was including physical characteristics as well (eye color, hair color, etc, which was quite strange). I asked why that was important and if I remember correctly she said “just wait and see”. The dream transitioned – Jesus was giving me a glimpse of God knitting me together in my mother’s womb. It was so vivid and absolutely amazing. Though His words were not audible, it was God telling me in a still, small, voice  ”you are mine, I created you, look and see the care that I took in forming you. I love you. Nothing you can do can change that. Don’t be so hard on yourself because that takes away from the beauty of my creation”. (I also shared another story related to this dream on the Oak Hills Church – You’ll Get Through This Stories website)

 

Ever since I had that dream, God has been speaking to my heart reminding me over and over again that I am “fearfully and wonderfully made” (see Psalm 139), and so are you! My Heavenly Father calls me by a new name and I am growing into my name.

Is there a label you want to break free from? Do you believe you are a new creation?

Please join me on this journey to to be a Label Breaker! I strongly suggest you watch Pastor Craig’s podcast – Breaking The Labels That Bind to begin this journey. I would love to hear/read your thoughts about it.

2 thoughts on “Label Breaker!

  1. Christina, what a beautiful reminder to all of us. Our labels should come from God only. Thank you for reminding me of that wonderful truth!
    Blessings,
    Christyn

    1. Thank you so much Christyn! God has really been working on me in this area and I’m excited to see how His plan unfolds. Your lessons have really been encouraging this victory mentality too. If you get a chance, watch Pastor Craig’s message. It is so powerful! I listened to it today for probably the 5th or 6th time. See you tomorrow!

I love to read your comments....

