Imperfection

I’m Messy, Okay

Goodwill Pile

Those of you who know me well know that I can be messy. Okay, really messy. Those of you who don’t know me well, nice to meet you in cyberspace, and I hope you won’t be scared off.  I have been this way for a very long time, probably since I was a teenager. I don’t know why I am this way, but it could have something to do with the way my brain works. Things aren’t packed into neat little compartments in my brain. I’ve heard it said that creative people are not the cleanest people so, maybe it is something I should be grateful for – messy me = creative me.

Believe me I have tried to change. It’s not fun seeing the looks on the faces of your family and friends, or hearing the whispers,  when they see the mess of me. I am grateful for those family and friends who love me anyway despite my messiness flaw and all my other flaws.  I am learning, though, that if you want to overcome some habit or stronghold in your life, it must be brought into the light. Praying that I won’t lose creative me in the process.

So with that said, when The Nester posted the opportunity to have a It Doesn’t Have to be Perfect to be Beautiful Party I decided to whip out my trusty little camera (that my dear friend Sandy gave me) and snap a few shots of the messiness. Now, this is not the worst it has been, and I have actually had some clean moments in my lifetime. My car is a whole other story I’ll share with you some other time.

Neverending Laundry Pile
Somewhat messy kitchen
5 thoughts on “I’m Messy, Okay

  1. I love you for sharing this Christina! I sent you some photos in an email to share my “messiness.” All I have to say about this subject can be summed up in one quote I read:

    “A perfectly kept house is a sign of a misspent life.” -Mary Randolph Carter

    🙂

  2. I love it. I have been messy all my life and always was so ashamed of it. My mother talks about my being messy as if I am junky . I am proud of myself, my career and education. I never ask clean people why they are so boring and unproductive or why they do not read .

    1. Thanks for your comment! I think my mom has finally realized that this is just the way I am and no matter how much I strive to change, that maybe it’s just me.

      1. Yes. After 36 years of being ashamed of myself, I have come to the idea that it is just me,too. When I was a child I was suffering a lot in the school. I was so brilliant, but messy. My friends blamed me for being messy and all the time I tried to change myself, but it was not possible. no matter how much I tried, I was still messy. yes. this is how our brain works….we must admit it. I love you and all of messy people……lets be in solidarity….hahahahha may be we need a party or syndicate to defend our rights…..

I love to read your comments....

