A Very Crowded Cloud

Sunset Apr2012 005

“His purpose in using the cloud is to simplify our beliefs until our relationship with Him is exactly like that of a child— a relationship simply between God and our own souls, and where other people are but shadows. Until other people become shadows to us, clouds and darkness will be ours every once in a while.” Oswald Chambers, My Utmost for His Highest

The above quote comes from this very eye-opening Oswald Chambers devotional I read this morning: http://utmost.org/do-you-see-jesus-in-your-clouds/

I only had to meditate for a few short moments on the question asked in the last paragraph – “Is there anyone except Jesus in your cloud?” A somewhat humorous but quite a disturbing image formed in my mind. There I was standing very distraught and exhausted in the center of my cloud. Instead of Jesus standing next to me in the center of the cloud, he was very calmly with hand outstretched standing on the edge of the cloud.

There was a fence of people standing around me and I couldn’t get to Jesus, and He didn’t have room to move closer to me, and why would I expect Jesus to push past a fence of people? The people surrounding me were shouting their expectations of me. It was a chaotic scene. The people didn’t even see that Jesus was right there. I knew He was there but did I say anything to the people surrounding me? NO! That makes me very sad.

I don’t want anyone or anything to block my access to Jesus or His access to me, and I don’t ever want to be part of the fence blocking someone else from Jesus.

My prayer is that Jesus will gently help me to do some cloud-clearing.

Is anyone else standing in the cloud that only you and Jesus should be occupying?

 

2 thoughts on “A Very Crowded Cloud

  1. Good question to ponder. My cloud feels a bit heavy lately, could be because it is occupied with some things/people making her weighed down and out of sorts. I appreciate your vulnerability Christina. Wonderful thought provoking post!

    • I think my thing is that I don’t enough take time to Be Still and know that He is God. I let the expectations of this world lasso me in until I am exhausted in every possible way.

I love to read your comments....

