Who I Belong To

Picture2

“You live among people who glorify busyness; they have made time a tyrant that controls their lives.” Sarah Young, Jesus Calling, July 17

Dear Lord,

I have sensed for a long time that this cubicle, 8-5, commuter world I live in was never your intention. I know now where to find you, and it’s not in the crazy-making. The thought of “busyness” as an idol was far from my mind for a very long time. I got caught in the trap of thinking the ways of the world were “the way”, but now I know that it is one of enemy’s greatest tactics and lies from the pit of hell. I am exhausted, Lord, trying to keep pace with the world. In the quiet and stillness, with you by my side, is where I’m reminded who I am and…

Who I Belong To

I belong to You, Lord

but, how often I forget that…

I don’t belong to people and their expectations, praises or rejections.

I belong to You, Lord,

but too often I forget that…

I don’t belong to this world and its temptations.

I belong to You, Lord

but way too often I forget that…

I don’t belong to the job and the desk

I belong to You, Lord

but day in and day out I forget…

I don’t belong to the clock and its deadlines

I belong to You, Lord

but it is way too easy to forget…

I don’t belong to the places where I worship or the Bible studies I attend

I belong to You, Lord

but I sure do forget that…

I don’t belong to my blog, or Facebook, or Twitter

I belong to You, Lord

but embarrassingly I forget that…

I don’t belong to my bank account or its negative or positive balances.

I belong to You, Lord

but unfortunately I forget that…

I don’t belong to myself and my need to control

I belong to You, Lord

but sadly I forget that…

I don’t belong to my past or the “sin that so easily entangles” (Hebrews 12:1)

I BELONG TO YOU, LORD and I pray that you will help me to BE STILL and KNOW THAT YOU ARE GOD (Psalm 46:10)

©Christina Hernandez, July 2014

3 thoughts on “Who I Belong To

  1. What a beautiful reminder of my desire for belonging is actually filled in my relationship with Him. I belong to Him. Yes. I too belong to you LORD. Lovely.

I love to read your comments....

